A Meeting with The President of Blandford Homes

April 29, 2009 at 11:16 pm 9 comments

I recently visited the trailer where the temporary sales office at Chandler’s new Portello Community to get a price list for future homes in the community. I had learned about Portello through conversations with friends and fellow Realtors and was surprised by the tremendous drop in the new prices under the new ownership of Blandford Homes.

When I stepped into the trailer, no one was in the front room, so I peeked into a doorway and saw two gentlemen sitting on a couch.. They looked like they were about to sign a contract to buy a home. I turned around to get a price sheet and to avoid interrupting their conversation, but one of the two gentleman stood up to ask how he could help me. My initial reaction was to reply , “Are you Mr. Blandford?” The man’s reply was, “No, but he’s right here,” and he directed me back through the doorway where the other man, wearing casual clothes, was sitting.

Mr. Blandford is a successful and respected Arizona real estate tycoon. He is the owner of Tuscany Villas Community and Mountain Bridge Community in Mesa and the upcoming Portello Community in Chandler. Tuscany Villas just opened last month and has already sold 60 homes in 45 days — that’s more than one home a day in a difficult real estate market. Mountain Bridge has sold almost 20 homes in two weeks — not bad in an economy where people are losing jobs, losing homes and sometimes losing their minds.

The Portello Community is attracting many home buyers who are price-driven. The homes start at $180,000 for an 1,800-square-foot home. Blandford Homes is selling brand new houses at a foreclosure-level prices. Why? Because Mr. Blandford bought the land so inexpensively from the previous developer, which tanked, and is now passing the savings to the homebuyers. What a deal!

My chance meeting with Mr. Blandford and his Vice President, Mr. Underwood, was truly inspiring. I hope I have the opportunity to sell their well-priced homes to clients in the future.

Entry filed under: Arizona Real Estate, Chandler Real Estate, Foreclosures & Short Sales, Phoenix Real Estate, Real Estate Deals. Tags: , , , , , .

Who is Eligible to Refinance or Modify their Loan? Short Sale Seminar a Success

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bill Schmidt  |  August 3, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Jeff,

    Sherry and I were just talking the other evening about Blandford Homes and I told her I was going to get on line and see if I could find anything about Blandford Homes. Sure am glad to hear your still doing well and things are going okay for you. We are now in Venus, TX, just about 30 miles S/E of Ft Worth and 35 miles S/W of Dallas. We bought an acre of land and built a new home on it. It’s a small rural area and our community has about 60 – 75 homes in it. The company who built it out has since closed down (Choice Homes) but they reminded us of Blandford Homes. Nice group of people and a family ran operation for the most part. I still have a lot of good memories of the years I worked for you and am glad I had the chance to do it. Have a good day and tell everyone hello for us. Bill & Sherry Schmidt

    Reply
  • 2. Bill Schmidt  |  August 3, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Jeff,

    Sherry and I were just talking the other evening about Blandford Homes and I told her I was going to get on line and see if I could find anything about Blandford Homes. Sure am glad to see your still building homes and doing well. We are now in Venus, TX, just about 30 miles S/E of Ft Worth and 35 miles S/W of Dallas. We bought an acre of land and built a new home on it. It’s a small rural area and our community has about 60 – 75 homes in it. The company (Choice Homes) that built the community is now out of business but they reminded us a lot of Blandford homes. Nice group of people and for the most part family ran/owned. I still have a lot of good memories of the years I worked for you and am glad to have had the chance to do it. Have a good day and tell everyone there hello for us. Bill & Sherry Schmidt

    Reply
    • 3. Gerry Allen  |  July 23, 2010 at 7:03 am

      Good Morning Bill and Sherri, I had a Blandford home built and moved in October 2008. To this date the house has had numerous issues regarding substandard products and substandard construction. They have had to come back and repair plumbing. electrical, clean up paint spills, replace roof tiles to just name a few. The porcelain tile they installed was made in China and defective. When I asked Blandford Homes about these issues All I got in response was that he has lost 20 million in the market (go figure so has everyone else including me) and that his subs had to use low cost products. I paid close to 480K for this home. All I can say about Blandford is the junk he builds sure did not meet my satisfaction, and I’m not the only one in the Mountain Bridge development with these issues.
      Gerry

      Reply
      • 4. Colin P  |  March 30, 2014 at 5:54 pm

        Ditto to Gerry. I have had 3 leaks in my over 600K house built by Blandford. I am sorely disappointed. The house is worth almost half of the initial price and nothing works. Hopeless! Ryan…give it a couple more years if you are fortunate. Mountain Bridge is fairly new. Its by years 4 up you will see.

  • 5. Ryan  |  July 22, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Gerry Allen- As a fellow home owner in Mountain Bridge I feel as though the houses are of excellent quality along with the customer service. I do not believe one bit that they just ignored you and came up with an excuse like that. Since the move in date over a year ago, we have not had one single problem with the house and Blandford Homes has called multiple times just to see how we were doing. I strongly encourage you to contact Blandford Homes because I know for a fact that they will help you out and do all that they can to make you satisfied with your home. Honestly I believe that you have caused this entire situation on your own and if you used your brain, you would call them and act like a mature adult, not some whining old man that has no life other than to be negative and ruin others. Thanks alot and have a wonderful day!

    Reply
  • 6. Tanis W Shill  |  August 6, 2012 at 10:23 am

    I am sad to say that my opinion of Blanford homes is tarnished. I recently took a cliend to see there homes at Power Ranch….my client fell in love with these cute homes…..and as they were at the very top of her budget….took what she could get…..not a great lot but at least she was getting into the community. The sales person pointed her in the direction of this home as it was a spec home with not lot incentive. We went to do the lot hold and he let us know that there was indeed an additional fee for the lot incentive….$900, My client agreed to still move forward. Keep in mind that my client had been pre approved through the builders lender for $180,000 and with the lot incentive we were now at $179,000 and some change.

    My client was still, gleeful with excitement! We made our appointment to sit down and write the contract……keep in mind we already worked out all the details on the spec sheet made addition and subtractions ect.

    Low and behold I arrived to a visably distraught client. The Blandford sales person forgot to change the price on the spec sheet. Sorry but the house is now $5000 more. We are now being completly ignored.

    Reply
    • 7. arizonabargainhomes  |  August 6, 2012 at 10:50 am

      I am sorry to hear about your experience. I would elevate the matter to the supervisor or to Mr. Blandford himself. I am hopeful that Mr. Blandford- being the owner of the company will do his best to remedy the situation and keep you as a customer. Good luck! – Maria Hass, HomeSmart

      Reply
  • 8. Karilin  |  October 11, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Blandford homes are bland. That is fine if there is an entire neighbourhood being built, but to come in half way thru and put on minimal exteriors when every house around is pretty is not cool. Trend homes in Power Ranch are all rock work, faux balcony, shutters, etc. Blandford homes are stripped down with the bare minimum exterior finish. They are plain and boring from the street. It’s a blight on the community. At least Shea homes is keeping up standards with their builds on the exterior.

    Reply
    • 9. arizonabargainhomes  |  October 12, 2012 at 3:11 pm

      Karilin,
      Thank you for sharing your experience. It is unfortunate that Blandford Homes came short of your expectations.
      Maria

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds

Fresh Tweets


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 434 other followers

